Union

Union 2014 schedule released

On Monday afternoon, the Philadelphia Union’s 2014 schedule was released. The Union will begin their 2014 campaign on the road against Portland on Saturday, March 8. This marks the fourth time in five seasons the Union have started on the road. For the third time in five seasons, the Union will conclude the regular season on the road.

The schedule includes 23 Saturday games, two Sunday games, four Wednesday games, one Thursday game, and three Friday games.

Eight of the Unions games will be nationally televised. Local television schedule and times will be released at a later date. It would be reasonable to expect that all of the kickoff times listed below, many of which are listed as to be determined, are subject to change between now and the start of the season.

Fell free to leave your thoughts on the schedule in the comment section below.

Philadelphia Union 2014 schedule:
Saturday March 8, 10:30 pm: Portland Timbers vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday March 15, time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs New England Revolution (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, March 22, 6 pm: Columbus Crew vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, March 29, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs Montreal Impact (Direct Kick, MLS Live)

Saturday, April 5, 5 pm: Chicago Fire vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, April 12, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs Real Salt Lake (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Wednesday, April 16, 7:30 pm: New York Red Bulls vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, April 19, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs Houston Dynamo (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, April 26, Time TBD: Montreal Impact vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)

Saturday, May 3, 10 pm: Seattle Sounders vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, May 10, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs DC United (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Wednesday, May 14, 8:30pm: Sporting Kansas City vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, May 17, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs New England Revolution (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Sunday, May 25, 8 pm: Los Angeles Galaxy vs Philadelphia Union (Univision Deportes)
Saturday, May 31, 10:30pm: Chivas USA vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)

Saturday, June 7, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs Vancouver Whitecaps (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, June 28, 7:30pm: New England Revolution vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)

Friday, July 4, 9 pm: FC Dallas vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, July 12, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs Colorado Rapids (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Wednesday, July 16, 7 pm: Philadelphia Union vs New York Red Bulls (ESPN2)
Saturday, July 19, 8:30 pm : Chicago Fire vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)

Friday, August 1, 8 pm: Sporting Kansas City vs Philadelphia Union (NBCSN)
Saturday, August 9, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs Montreal Impact (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Friday, August 15, 9 pm: Houston Dynamo vs Philadelphia Union (NBCSN)
Sunday, August 24, 8 pm: Philadelphia Union vs San Jose Earthquakes (Univision Deportes)

Wednesday, September 3, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs Toronto FC (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, September 6, Time TBD: Toronto FC vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, September 13, 3 pm: Philadelphia Union vs New York Red Bulls (NBCSN)
Saturday, September 20, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs Houston Dynamo (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, September 27, 3 pm: DC United vs Philadelphia Union (NBCSN)

Thursday, October 2, 8 pm: Philadelphia Union vs Chicago Fire (ESPN2)
Saturday October 11, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs Columbus Crew (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, October 18, Time TBD: Philadelphia Union vs Sporting Kansas City (Direct Kick, MLS Live)
Saturday, October 26, 5 pm: Columbus Crew vs Philadelphia Union (Direct Kick, MLS Live)

11 Comments

  1. Interesting that most of our home games have no listed time yet.
    .
    Also, three of the final four matches are at home. That could prove to be big down the stretch.

    • perhaps they’re poring over the fan survey info for best times to hold the matches.
      personally, i was able to attend every match this past season though i wouldn’t have minded another midafternoon match in the second half of the season.

    • I’ve heard that MLS might be trying some flex scheduling on the weekends to allow them to bring the most interesting game into a prime time slot. Perhaps that’s why all the TBDs?

  2. No break for the world cup?

  3. UnitedPenn13 says:

    I wonder why we are playing Sporting KC, Columbus & Chicago 3 times, two of which are away?

    • Part of the unbalanced scheduling. We’ll get them twice at home in ’15.

      • UnitedPenn13 says:

        Except in ’15 there will be 2 new clubs in the league so scheduling will probably be done differently. So we are playing 3 teams 3 times, twice away but are we playing any other teams 3 times where we play them twice at home? Not that I noticed in the schedule. Are we being screwed because we finished 7th?

      • Red Bulls, Montreal and New England.

  4. Pingback: Union schedule released, 4 are waived, Eddie Johnson rumor, more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*